New Jersey Family Leave Insurance
New Jersey law provides for partial wage-replacement benefits for individuals who need to take time off to care for sick family members or to bond with a child under the New Jersey Family Leave Insurance (FLI) program. However, even though this program provides monetary benefits, it does not provide leave, or time off, to employees. Instead, family and/or medical leave may be provided to qualifying employees under laws such as the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) or the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA). As a result, in New Jersey it is important to know first whether you have a right to take leave and have your job protected for you until you return, and then also determine whether such leave will be paid for.
Employees who pay into the state's family leave insurance program via payroll deductions from their paychecks. Wage requirements also apply.
Weekly benefits of two-thirds (2/3) of an employee's average weekly wage, limited to a maximum of $559 per week. The maximum duration of benefits is 6 weeks within a 12-month period.
Qualifying Reasons for Leave:
New Jersey Family Leave Insurance allows for covered employees to recover benefits for time they take off to:
1) care for a spouse, domestic partner, civil union partner, parent or child who has a serious health condition; or
2) bond with a newborn baby, adopted or foster child.
A "serious health condition" typically must be certified by a health care provider and is defined as an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition, which requires inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care facility or continuing medical treatment or continuing supervision by a health care provider.
Contact a qualified employment attorney to make sure your rights are protected.