Are You a Legal Professional?

State Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws

Summaries of state minimum wage and overtime laws are listed in the following table. For starters, it is important for workers in most industries and job types to be aware that federal law establishes a baseline for minimum wages across the country. Workers covered by the federal wage law (the FLSA) are entitled to at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. Thus, in states which have established no minimum wage rate or one lower than the federal wage rate (9 states), the higher federal rate will apply for many workers.

Nearly half (23) of the states have a rate equal to the federal rate of $7.25, while 18 states and D.C. have set a rate higher than the federal minimum wage. The higher rates set by these states will apply for most workers. Notably, however, the minimum wage and overtime pay requirements below do NOT apply to exempt employees, farm workers, or public sector employees, as defined by both federal and state laws.

Please select from the list or browse below for more information.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New York West Virginia
Iowa New Mexico Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming
 
Select U.S. Territories and Commonwealths:
Guam Puerto Rico U.S. Virgin Islands

Summaries of Minimum Wage and Overtime Requirements by State

Alabama

No minimum wage or overtime law. Instead, federal minimums and overtime rules under the the FLSA apply. The Alabama Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on labor laws in the state.


Alaska

7.75 per hour. Alaska requires overtime pay for any time worked over 8 hours in any workday or 40 hours in any given work week. Employers with less than 4 employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule. The Alaska Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Arizona

Arizona's hourly minimum wage is $7.90 and is increased annually based on a cost of living formula. Overtime requirements are based on federal law. The Industrial Commission of Arizona website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Arkansas

$6.25, which applies only to employers with 4 or more employees. Federal wage rates and overtime requirements apply to qualifying employees. The Arkansas Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


California

California requires a minimum wage of $8.00 per hour. Overtime pay of time-and-a-half is required for hours worked over 8 in a day, 40 in a week, and for the first 8 hours of the seventh day worked in a week. Double pay is required for any hours worked over 12 in a day or in excess of eight hours on any seventh day of a workweek. The California Dep't of Ind. Relations website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Colorado

$8.00 and varies annually based on a cost of living formula. The state's minimum wage applies to the food and beverage, medical, retail and service industries. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The Colorado Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Connecticut

$8.70. Should the federal minimum wage be increased to match or exceed that of the state, Connecticut's minimum wage automatically increases by .5% above the federal wage. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The Conn. Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Delaware

$7.25 with automatic increase to match increase in federal minimum. Federal overtime rules apply. The Delaware Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


District of Columbia

$8.25. If exceeded by the federal minimum, D.C. law requires a $1 increase in the state minimum wage. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The DC Dep't of Employment Services website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Florida

$7.93 and this rate is increased annually based on a cost of living formula. Federal overtime rules apply. The Fla. Dep't of Econ. Opportunity website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Georgia

$5.15 and state law specifies that the federal minimum wage applies in any circumstances where it exceed the state minimum. Federal overtime rules apply. The Georgia Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Hawaii

$7.25, but any employees guaranteed $2,000/month or more are exempted from the state's minimum wage and overtime law. Employers covered by the FLSA are excluded unless the state rate is higher. Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week. The Hawaii Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Idaho

$7.25, equal to the federal rate. Federal overtime rules apply. The Idaho Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Illinois

$8.25, which is applicable only to employers with 4 or more non-family employees. Overtime is required after 40 hours in a workweek. The Illinois Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Indiana

$7.25, with overtime required after 40 hours worked. The Indiana Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Iowa

$7.25, with an automatic increase to match a greater federal minimum wage.  Federal overtime rules apply. The Iowa Labor Servs. Div. website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Kansas

$7.25, with overtime required by state law after 46 hours worked in a week. State law does not apply to employment covered under the FLSA; instead, federal wage / overtime requirements will apply for qualified workers and those who work over 40 hours in a week. The Kansas Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Kentucky

$7.25 per hour, with an automatic increase should the federal minimum wage rise. Overtime pay is required for employees working over 40 hours in a week, and also for any employees who work 7 days in a single work week (overtime will apply on 7th day). The Kentucky Labor Cabinet website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Louisiana

Lousiana has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Louisiana Workforce Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Maine

$7.50 an hour, with a maximum $1 automatic increase should the federal minimum wage be higher than this rate. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours. The Maine Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Maryland

$7.25 per hour, with an automatic increase should the federal minimum wage rise. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Maryland Department of Labor , Licensing and Regulation website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Massachusetts

$8.00 with an automatic 10 cent increase in the event that the federal minimum wage equals or exceeds the state rate. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor & Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Michigan

$7.40 an hour for employers with 2 or more employees. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Michigan Dept. of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Minnesota

Minnesota establishes 2 minimum wage rates lower than the federal minimum. For employers with annual receipts of $625,000 or more, the minimum wage is $6.15 an hour. For those with receipts of less than that amount, the minimum wage is $5.25 per hour. A temporary, training wage of $4.90 per hour is also allowed in specific circumstances. Overtime is required after 48 hours worked in a given week. Federal wage and overtime laws supercede the state's laws for qualified employees. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Mississippi

Mississippi has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Mississippi Department of Employment Security website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Missouri

$7.50 per hour, with a cost of living adjustment (up or down) on January 1 of every year. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Missouri Labor and Industrial Relations Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Montana

$7.90 an hour, but $4.00 per hour for employers with gross sales of less than $110,000 per year. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Montana Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Nebraska

$7.25 an hour for employers with 4 or more employees. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Nebraska Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Nevada

$7.25 an hour for employees who are receiving employer-provided health benefits. $8.25 for those who do not receive such benefits. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


New Hampshire

No minimum wage law (repealed in 2011 by HB 133). Wages and overtime governed by federal law.


New Jersey

$8.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


New Mexico

$7.50 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The New Mexico Department of Work Force Solutions website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


New York

$8.00 per hour, with an automatic increase should the federal minimum wage rise above the state rate. Overtime is required for time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. The New York Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


North Carolina

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The North Carolina Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


North Dakota

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The North Dakota Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Ohio

$7.25 an hour for employers that gross $283,000 or less annually. $7.95 per hour for employers grossing above that amount. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Ohio Department of Commerce website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Oklahoma

$7.25 per hour, with the state rate based on whatever the current federal rate may be. This rate applies to employers with 10 or more employees and employers of any size with over $100,000 in gross annual sales. Other employers are covered by a $2.00 minimum wage rate (or the applicable higher federal rate). Overtime pay is covered by federal law. The Oklahoma Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Oregon

$9.10 per hour, varying annually based on an inflation calculation. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. A few industries, including factories and manufacturing establishments, also have overtime pay required after 10 hours worked in a workday. The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Pennsylvania

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Rhode Island

$8.00 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. Retail and other specified businesses must also pay overtime for work on Sundays and holidays. The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


South Carolina

The state has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulations website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


South Dakota

$7.25 an hour. Federal overtime requirements apply. The South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Tennessee

The state has established no minimum wage laws. Instead, federal wage and overtime laws apply. The Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Texas

$7.25 an hour, and is based on the existing federal minimum wage rate at any point in time. Federal overtime requirements apply. The Texas Workforce Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Utah

$7.25 an hour, based on the existing federal minimum wage rate. Federal overtime requirements apply. The Utah Labor Commission website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Vermont

$8.73 per hour for employers with 2 or more employees, with a yearly increase. The minimum wage is also set to match the federal minimum should it exceed Vermont's. Overtime pay is required for time worked over 40 hours, but state law exempts a variety of industries, including retailers, hotels, and restaurants, from the overtime rule. Federal overtime requirements may nevertheless apply. The Vermont Department of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Virginia

The current federal minimum wage (currently $7.25) for employers with 4 or more employees. Overtime is covered by federal law. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Washington

$9.32 per hour, adjusted for inflation on a yearly basis. Overtime pay required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Washington Department of Labor and Industries website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


West Virginia

$7.25 an hour for employers with 6 or more employees at a single location. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The West Virginia Division of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Wisconsin

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Wisconsin Dep't of Workforce Development website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Wyoming

$5.15 an hour. The federal minimum wage will apply for qualified employees, and federal overtime rules also apply. The Wyoming Dep't of Workforce Services website may have additional specific information on wage laws in the state.


Minimum Wage and Overtime Pay Requirements for Select U.S. Territories

Guam

$7.25 an hour. Overtime is required for time worked in excess of 40 hours in a week. The Guam Dep't of Labor website may have additional specific information on wage laws in Guam.


Puerto Rico

$7.25 per hour with overtime pay required after 8 hours worked in a day or 40 hours in a week. Puerto Rico applies a variable minimum wage that differs between industries. Further, employers covered by the federal wage and hour law, the FLSA, are required to pay the higher federal minimum wage. If employers are not covered by the FLSA, a minimum wage of 70% of the federal minimum wage or a rate set by mandatory decree will apply. The Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources website may have more helpful information on Puerto Rico wage and labor laws.


U.S. Virgin Islands

$7.25 per hour with overtime required after 8 hours in any day or 40 hours in a given workweek. Overtime is also required on the 6th and 7th consecutive days worked. For businesses with gross receipts of less than $150,000, the minimum wage is $4.30. The Virgin Islands Department of Labor website may have more helpful information on Puerto Rico wage and labor laws, generally.

Next Steps
Contact a qualified employment attorney to make sure
your rights are protected.
(e.g., Chicago, IL or 60611)

Help Me Find a Do-It-Yourself Solution